I was washing dishes Saturday afternoon when a track called “007” from the From Russia With Love soundtrack popped up on my iPod.  That led me to jump to a few other tracks from James Bond soundtracks, but I kept coming back to “007.”  I’ve always loved the interaction between the various instruments in that track.  As iconic as the James Bond Theme is, for me the one musical piece I always associate with 007 is “007.”

Surprisingly enough, when I suggested watching From Russia With Love Saturday night, nobody objected.  My kids don’t necessarily like older movies the way I do, so I expected someone to pipe up with some other suggestion.  Nope.  The boys had never seen it and my daughter didn’t remember it, so Saturday night we put on Sean Connery’s best Bond film, with Robert Shaw in his most menacing performance.

And the one thing that inspired me to do so was John Barry’s “007.”

John Barry, OBE, died yesterday.  Film music lost a legend.  Although he did not compose the James Bond Theme, his music helped define the James Bond filmgoing experience.  He was always one of my favorite film composers, right up there alongside Bernard Hermann and Ennio Morricone.

John Barry, you will be missed.

BBC News Obituary: John Barry

