Three fascinating portraits of three fascinating Americans, spread across three fascinating time periods.  I learnt much more than I expected to about Twain and Wright.  Both of those pieces were far more engaging than I anticipated.  The piece on Jefferson, however, left me wanting more, especially regarding Jefferson’s early years … but perhaps that is because I had already done a fair amount of research on Jefferson’s life whilst watching HBO’s abysmal John Adams miniseries back in 2008.

I’m embarassed to admit that these are the first Ken Burns documentaries that I’ve watched in their entirety.  I’ve seen bits and pieces of his better-known ones, but I’ve never made the time to sit down and watch them all the way through.  Until now.  I think I’m well overdue to take an in-depth look at his depiction of the Civil War.  Time for me to track that down.

 

