I have to say, I’m not a big fan of Will Ferrell.  Up until today, I would usually say that I hate Will Ferrell.  Last night, my kids decided to watch The Other Guys.  I could hear them all cackling hysterically (including my wife, who until yesterday also hated Will Ferrell) all the way down in the basement.

So … after their rave reviews, I decided to give it a chance … and I’m very glad I did.

I no longer hate Will Ferrell.  I still can’t say that I like him as a comedian (except for his take on Alex Trebek in SNL’s Jeopardy! skits).  I certainly did not laugh out loud anywhere nearly as much as I expected based on what I heard from my familiy last night, but The Other Guys is quite simply the most brilliant thing I’ve ever seen Will Ferrell do.  It’s a spot-on biting satire of Michael Bay style cop buddy movies with a surprisingly intelligent script and an amazingly good cast.  The moment I heard Ice-T narrating it I was hooked, and my only disappointment was in not seeing cameo appearances by Fin & Munch.

There’s more I’d love to say about it, but I don’t want to spoil anything.  If you haven’t seen it yet, watch it.  I’m really sorry I missed this on the big screen.

