Y’know, originally I never had any intention of watching this show.  As much as I like Bruce Willis and adore Terry Gilliam, I always thought the original 12 Monkeys film was one of Gilliam’s lesser works.  Friends of mine at the time raved about what a beautiful mindfuck it was, but I guess growing up watching Doctor Who made me consider its paradoxical storytelling pedestrian and mundane.

I just happened to be channel surfing last night and noticed a rerun of the pilot would be airing in ten minutes.  That led me to think what the heck, at least it’ll give me something to rant about here.

Imagine my surprise when I started enjoying it, almost from the outset.  Imagine my surprise when I discovered Željko Ivanek (Danvers!) was in it.  Imagine my surprise when I caught myself getting caught up in it, nodding my head and muttering out loud, “Y’know … this is pretty good.”

It entertained me, and that’s what is important.  The pilot episode entertained me far more than the original film did.  Now there’s no guarantee that the rest of the scripts for this season will keep up this level of quality, but the pilot was good enough to encourage me to give the show a chance.  So I think I probably will.

 

